Symphonic Dances


Symphonic Dances

Symphonic Dances Webslider


March 5, 2022
Concert Performance
7:30 PM

Hear the orchestra dance in this night of catchy rhythms and toe-tapping melodies. We open with the evocative, jazzy, and nostalgic Dances in the Canebrakes by Florence Price, the first African-American woman composer to have her work performed by major orchestras. We will also play Rachmaninoff’s fascinating Symphonic Dances, which was originally intended to be a ballet score, but eventually became a meditation on ecclesiastical chant motifs. 
In addition to these pieces, due to programing changes at the February 5th concert, the epic love story of Ravel’s Daphnis and Chloe will be played at the March 5th concert. 


Florence Price – Dances in the Canebrakes 
Sergei Rachmaninoff – Symphonic Dances  
Maurice Ravel – Daphnis and Chloe  
          With the Missouri State University Choral


Single Tickets will be available for purchase by calling the Juanita K. Hammons Hall Box Office at (417) 836-7678 or go online to

Buy Tickets Button

Purchase livestream access by clicking the button below.

Livestream Options Button

To learn about our 2021-22 season, Dance Mixclick hereSeason Tickets are available for purchase and/or renewal at this time. For more information, call the Springfield Symphony office at 417-864-6683.